End-Point Assessment

Home - End-Point Assessment

What is End-Point Assessment?

End-Point Assessment ensures that an apprentice has gained the knowledge, skills and behaviours required of their apprenticeship. But don’t think of it like a school exam, think of it as a way of providing a quality mark to the apprenticeship qualification that has just been studied.

End-Point Assessment has come about as a result of trailblazers which has seen the number of apprenticeship standards increase as the Government seeks to raise the number of apprenticeships being studied nationally by 2020. The trailblazers have been developed alongside employers, with the aim of ensuring the apprenticeship programme is relevant and valid for the sector. By adopting this employer-led model, it ensures that the apprenticeship will be meaningful, ultimately benefiting the apprentice. End-Point Assessment is included within the apprenticeship standard, and acts as the ‘quality assurance’ mark of an apprenticeship.

The apprenticeship journey



EPA Gateway


The End-Point Assessment element of the apprenticeship will take place once the on-programme training has been completed, typically after at least 12 months on training. It can only begin when the the training provider, apprentice and employer agree that the apprentice is ready.

It is at this stage that an End-Point Assessment Organisation, such as Prepare to Achieve, will check that the apprentice has done everything they needed to do on their apprenticeship and organise the assessment methods.

At Prepare to Achieve, we deliver EPA for the Adult Care Worker (Level 2) and Lead Adult Care Worker (Level 3) apprenticeships using two methods of assessment, a Situational Judgement Test and a Professional Discussion.

The Situational Judgement Test (SJT)

During the SJT, apprentices are presented with 60 multiple-choice questions based on real life scenarios. The questions used will draw on the stated knowledge and skills elements of the standard and focus on the higher order competencies, allowing candidates to demonstrate the full breadth of their judgement and understanding. Candidates who achieve more than 40 correct marks will pass the assessment, with those achieving 50-54 achieving a Merit and those achieving 55 or more a Distinction. Candidates must complete the SJT before moving on to the Professional Discussion.

End point assessment Prepare to Achieve
End-Point Assessment

The Professional Discussion (PD)

The PD is the final method of assessment to achieve End-Point Assessment with this standard. As with the SJT, candidates will be assessed against the knowledge, skills and behaviours set out in the apprenticeship standard, but this time with a structured interview. From a bank of pre-set questions, apprentices will be probed in such a way that enables them to demonstrate the content of the standard. PDs will cover approximately 15 standardised stimulus questions over the course of 45 minutes. Candidates will be rated as either having either unsatisfactory achievement, or achievement sufficient for a Pass, Merit or Distinction.

Want to talk to a human?

We’d love to talk to you about your End-Point Assessment needs and how we can support you. Simply complete this form and we will get back to you, or you can call us on 0151 662 0139.