Adult Care Worker Level 2

Home - Apprenticeships - Adult Care Worker Level 2

Prepare to Achieve is approved to deliver End-Point Assessment for healthcare apprenticeship standards including the Adult Care Worker Standard

What is the Adult Care Worker standard and who is it for?

The Adult Care Worker standard (Level 2) is the entry-level apprenticeship for the health and social care sector. If you have apprentices on this standard, they are likely to be working as “front-line staff who help adults with care and support needs to achieve their personal goals and live as independently and safely as possible, enabling them to have control and choice in their lives.” Job titles may include Care Assistant, Care Worker, Support Worker, Home Care Support Worker, Learning Disability Support Worker or Mental Health Support Worker.

Course Features – Adult Care Worker Level 2

Duration: 12 – 18 months (with the EPA being delivered once the on-programme training has been completed)

Delivery: The EPA consists of face-to-face and remote assessments.

Level: 2

Standard number: ST0005 (119)

How does the EPA process for this apprenticeship standard work?

Once an apprentice has completed their training for this healthcare apprenticeship standard, that’s when they begin End-Point Assessment. There are two methods of End-Point Assessment for this standard: the Situational Judgement Test (SJT) and the Professional Discussion (PD). Both assessment methods ensure that the apprentice has demonstrated the required knowledge, skills and behaviours to pass the apprenticeship. Individuals are fairly graded based on performance. Apprentices will receive either a pass, merit, or distinction.

Situational Judgement Test with Prepare to Achieve

The Situational Judgement Test (SJT)

One method of End-Point Assessment for the healthcare apprenticeship standards is the Situational Judgement Test (SJT). The SJT includes 60 multiple-choice questions. These questions are based on real life scenarios. The questions used will draw on the stated knowledge and skills elements of the standard and focus on the higher order competencies, allowing candidates to demonstrate the full breadth of their judgement and understanding. Candidates who achieve more than 40 correct marks will pass the assessment, with those achieving 50-54 achieving a Merit and those achieving 55 or more a Distinction. Candidates must complete the SJT before moving on to the Professional Discussion.

The Professional Discussion (PD)

The PD is the final method of the End-Point Assessment element to achieve a healthcare apprenticeship standard. PDs will cover approximately 15 standardised stimulus questions over the course of 45 minutes. Candidates will be rated as either having either unsatisfactory achievement, or achievement sufficient for a Pass, Merit or Distinction.

Contact Us


Because opinion matters

Want to talk to a human?

We’d love to talk to you about your End-Point Assessment needs and how we can support you. Simply complete this form and we will get back to you, or you can call us on 0151 662 0139.