What is End-Point Assessment?

Home - What is End-Point Assessment?

What is End-Point Assessment?

End-Point Assessment ensures that an apprentice has gained the knowledge, skills and behaviours required of their apprenticeship. But don’t think of it like a school exam, think of it as a way of providing a quality mark to the apprenticeship qualification that has just been studied.

End-Point Assessment has come about as apprenticeship standards have increased. These numbers will continue to rise due to the Government seeking to increase the number of apprenticeships being studied nationally by 2020. Employers typically develop apprenticeship programmes that are relevant and valid for the sector. This employer-led model ensures that the apprenticeship will be meaningful and benefit the apprentice. The apprenticeship standard includes your End-Point Assessment. The EPA acts as the ‘quality assurance’ mark of an apprenticeship.

The apprenticeship journey



EPA Gateway


The End-Point Assessment element of the apprenticeship will take place once the on-programme training has been completed. A typical timeline of an apprenticeship involves around 12 months of training. An EPA can only begin when the training provider, apprentice and employer agree that the apprentice is ready.

Following this stage an End-Point Assessment Organisation, like Prepare to Achieve, will check the apprentice has completed their training programme successfully. Adequate assessment methods test apprentices in their knowledge of their potential career path.

At Prepare to Achieve, we deliver EPA for the Adult Care Worker (Level 2) and Lead Adult Care Worker (Level 3) apprenticeships. The two methods of assessment used are Situational Judgement Test and Professional Discussion.

The Situational Judgement Test (SJT)

During the SJT, apprentices are presented with 60 multiple-choice questions based on real life scenarios. These questions are based on the stated knowledge, skills elements and are focused on higher order competencies. Candidates are to demonstrate the full breadth of their judgement and understanding through this testing method. Candidates who achieve more than 40 correct marks will pass the assessment. Those achieving 50-54 will achieve a Merit. Candidates who receive a 55 or more will achieve a Distinction. Candidates must complete the SJT before moving on to the Professional Discussion. Apprentices achieving fewer than 25 correct answers will not be permitted to retake the SJT until they have completed a professional review of performance and acted on its findings.

What is End-Point Assessment for apprentices
What is End-Point Assessment

The Professional Discussion (PD)

The PD is the final method to achieve End-Point Assessment with this standard. However, the SJT, assesses candidates against the knowledge, skills and behaviours set out in the apprenticeship standard. A PD will include these items within the EPA but with an additional structured interview. Apprentices will demonstrate the content of the standard through a bank of pre-set questions. Professional Discussions will cover approximately 15 standardised stimulus questions over the course of 45 minutes. Candidates are rated as follows: Unsatisfactory Achievement, Pass, Merit or Distinction. If a re-take is necessary, the maximum award achievable would be a pass.

Want to talk to a human?

We’d love to talk to you about your End-Point Assessment needs and how we can support you. Simply complete this form and we will get back to you, or you can call us on 0151 662 0139. To log in to your gateway account click here.